For Support contact |

Central Africa


  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Cameroon


This course is designed to help students acquire the basic knowledge and understanding of the regions and countries in Africa. Each volume provides a foundation of information geographical, culture, economic, political, historical, artistic and religious- that will allow students to better assess the current and the future problems within which the countries and regions and better understand how events there might affect their own well-being. NTCF, and NTC 2b, 2c, p13; 3e, 3i, 3k and 3o p14.

Unit 1: Central Africa
By the end the unit students will be able to:
1. Discuss the trends in the development of Central African countries
2. Discuss positive development in Central African countries
3. Discuss the challenges that Central African countries face in their development

Africa Political Divisions and Islands
The African continent is divided into 43 political independent countries. This consists of 47 mainland countries and 6 Islands. The largest country is Sudan with the total land area of 2,505,813km2 whilst the smallest is Seychelles of 455km2. The continent is commonly divided along the lines of the Sahara, the largest desert, which cuts a huge wrath through the northern half of the continent. The countries north of the Sahara make up of North Africa, while the region south the Sahara desert is termed Sub-Saharan Africa. Sub-Saharan Africa is sub-divided into four regions, namely West Africa, East Africa, Central Africa and South Africa.
List of countries in Africa
(a) North African Countries: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan and Tunisia
(b) West African countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Gambia and Togo
(c) East African Countries: Burundi, Djibouti, Mozambique, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda.
(d) Central African Countries: Angola, Central African Republic, Congo DR, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Zambia
(e) Southern African Countries: Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland and Zimbabwe
The Islands are located in the Indian Ocean (Madagascar, Seychelles, Mauritius, Pemba and Zanzibar), Gulf of Guinea (Sao Tome, Principe and Bioko [Formerly Fernando Po] ).
Discussion on education, Communication, transportation, government, economy of underlisted African countries and lessons drawn.
1. Cameroon
2. Central African Republic
3. Chad
4. Congo
5. Democratic Republic of Congo

1. List any FOUR (4) countries in Central Africa
2. (a) Outline four problems affecting the economic development of any one of the countries in (1).
(b) Explain how the problems identified in (a) can be addressed.

ASSIGNMENT : unit 1 assignment MARKS : 10  DURATION : 1 week, 3 days

SEE ALL Add a note
Add your Comment

Course Categories

  • No categories

About Metcoe

The Official LMS of METCOE.



  • No categories
Powered By© Orbit I.T Training and Services Ltd. All rights reserved.